Driving a Vehicle

If you want to buy your own vehicle there are some things that you need to consider and qualify for.

Obtaining a Driver’s License


You must have a valid driver’s license to drive a car. You are okay to drive on your country’s driver’s license, but it is recommended that you also obtain an international driver’s license. Each state in the United States issues its own driver’s license. To obtain a South Dakota driver’s license, you will be required to demonstrate your knowledge of the traffic. You will also be required to take a driving test. Never drive a vehicle unless you understand all of the applicable road rules, recognize all of the road signs, have car insurance and possess a valid license to drive. In South Dakota, you have three months to switch your driver's license or ID cards over to South Dakota. The local phone number is (605) 626-2549. Some helpful links:
http://www.dmv.org/sd-south-dakota/drivers-license.php and http://www.dmv.org/sd-south-dakota/apply-license.php

Purchasing a Vehicle


Used cars can be bought from individuals or from a dealership. When buying a car from an individual, you will probably find that the price asked will be lower than what a dealership might charge. Be sure to have the car checked by an independent auto mechanic before buying. Although prices for used cars from dealerships are typically higher, the vehicles usually come with a guarantee or warranty. In either case, be sure to test drive the car before buying and have the purchase agreement in writing. The best way to find information on available used cars for sale is through newspaper advertisements and classifieds sections.

Buying Car Insurance


If you have a car, you must have car insurance. That’s the law. After calling a number of insurance agencies and comparing rates, choose a company and policy that best fits your needs. But before making that call, you’ll need a U.S. driver’s license. You’ll also need to be familiar with the some common terms, as follows:

Liability


This relates to how much your insurance will pay another person if you are at fault in an accident (that is, if you hit them.) It covers damage to their vehicle as well as treatment for any injuries. The numbers a company will quote you will be something like 100/300, meaning in case of an accident, your insurance company will pay a maximum of $100,000 for car damage or injury per person for people injured in the other car with a maximum of $300,000 for three people. If there were more people in the other vehicle, the $300,000 will be split among them.

Collision


This covers damage to your vehicle if you are at fault in an accident such as running your car into another car, a tree etc.

Deductible


Collision comes with a deductible amount, which you can choose. If you have a deductible of $500, for example, you pay the first $500 toward repairs of your vehicle in case of an accident. The higher your deductible, the less expensive your auto insurance rates will be. The insurance broker will use the phrase “500 collision” or “collision at 500” when determining your deductible.

Comprehensive


This category covers events other than accidents. This includes theft of your vehicle or items in your vehicle such as your car stereo or laptop; and incidents such as hitting an animal, having a tree fall on your car, or if your windshield shattered by a rock from the highway. As with collision, this category comes with a deductible.